Would You Travel Solo?

Over the past few months I have noticed a large increase of articles about solo travel. If you had asked me a few years ago if I would travel alone I would have easily said no way. Ask me now and my answer would be the complete opposite. Although I love my travel partner, I would consider a solo trip to most places around the world. I used to ask myself why would anyone want to travel alone but now question why not?

Untitled design

One of the most common arguments against solo travel (especially for women) is about safety. Of course, safety is most important anywhere you go but there are many completely safe cities/countries for solo travel (yes even women). A lot of places are not what people think and are very welcoming for solo travel. However, safety when traveling solo is easy with some basic tips:

1) Let someone know where you are going, when you plan to arrive and leave and update them throughout your trip
2) Use the same safety tips you would anywhere you visited, in your own city, etc.
3) Know the information of your destination when you leave your hotel in the case of loosing your phone, not being able to get back the way you planned or getting lost.
4) Keep copies of all important documents i.e. Passport, ID card, credit cards, birth certificate in case you lose them.

Another question that often gets asked in regards to solo travel is won’t you get bored? In fact I think the answer is quite the opposite. On the other side of the argument, traveling solo allows you to go where you want, when you want and do what you want. Trying to convince people to commit to a time, place or amount of money is hard. Why do you have to hold back your plans waiting on others. Solo travel is made for those who experience wanderlust and want to get away. It allows someone to visit a travel destination that they have been wanting to visit but unable to get others to commit to going. You can plan a trip around your desires and agenda. It allows you to immerse yourself into a city even more than when you are tied to doing what your travel partner wants to do. What is better than a trip where you have not a single worry but your own? I do not think it gets better.

Although I am not planning any travel solo myself anytime soon, if the chance or opportunity comes up I will go. I think the opportunities with solo travel are endless and an option people should consider more. Is it for everyone? Of course not. I do think there are many people who have thought about it but then threw the idea out for one of the reasons I listed. If you have ever thought about it.. why not book that trip by yourself? Why wait for someone else if you can and want to go. Do it for yourself! Who knows what you will get to experience?

Tell me in the comments: Would you travel the world by yourself?

4 thoughts on “Would You Travel Solo?

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites #5 |

Leave a Reply

