Wednesday Workout & Playlist

Yesterday afternoon I had my (hopefully) last back procedure in an effort to control my pain. I am very hopeful that running and I will get back together very shortly. Unfortunately after the procedure, I still had my Tuesday night Bootcamp class. I needed to have a workout that would require me to simply monitor the exercises, not participate. I used aย student as my model for exercises and was able to still attend. Shhh… don’t tell but I think we know who my favorite class is. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dec of Cards Workout

I love workouts that make working out seem fun and not so tedious. Working out in the form of a game, makes it a bit more fun as the time passes much faster.ย Last night’s workout is great because you can do in a group fitness class but you can also complete it by yourself. All you need is a deck of cards, a set of weights and a mat. The # of reps = the # of your card + 10. (J,Q,K and A are 10) The max reps you would do is 20 reps. Complete each round once. Last night we did 10 mins of each round for a total of 30 minutes.ย Here are the exercises for each round:

Round 1:

Spades :ย  Burpees ย Clubs :ย  Push-ups
Hearts :ย  Crunches ย Diamonds :ย  Bicep Curl- Shoulder Press

Round 2:

Spades :ย  Mountain Climbers ย Clubs :ย  Squats
Hearts :ย  Side Crunches ย Diamonds :ย  Bent Row w/ Kickback

Round 3:

Spades :ย  Plank Jacks ย Clubs : Walking Lunges
Hearts :ย  Reverse Crunches ย Diamonds :ย  Throw w/ Chest Fly

I have mentioned before that my ideal playlist is a mix of oldies and current songs you hear on the radio. On Monday I used a playlist at Cycle that went over very well as students commented that they liked the mix of music. When a playlist includes pop, country, 80’s and more, everyone is bound to like a song or two. Although I used this for Cycle, it is a great playlist for your workout. Listen to it while you complete the Deck of Cards workout!

Spin Playlist

Tell me: Do you like your workouts to be fun? Or are you all about being serious and ย straight forward?

One thought on “Wednesday Workout & Playlist

  1. Pingback: Complete & Utter Randomness |

Leave a Reply

